The Halberg Cup


The Halberg Cup - presented by Halberg Foundation CEO.

Criteria for The Halberg Cup Award -Click Here


2018 Recipient - Brian Osmand - former New Zealand Patron

Inaugural Award - at the Halberg Awards dinner in 2018, Shelley McMeeken CEO of the Halberg Foundation had told us of the Halberg Foundation’s wish to commemorate our relationship by presenting an impressive trophy to Eagles, The Halberg Cup, and we have designated that it will be awarded for the most meritorious contribution during the year, with the executive to consider the winner.

BKO MM Halb trophy Quite naturally, we felt this year it would be most appropriate to honour one of our founders and former    patron, Brian Osmand, and past national president Myles Murphy had the pleasure of presenting the trophy to him at home in March. He admits to feeling his years more these days and couldn’t attend this year’s convention.

 But he has been such a great role model for us all for very many years. He’s knowledgeable, loves a good laugh, and he is full of beans. His fund of stories must be unparalleled anywhere. On behalf of all your great mates in Eagles, Brian, our heartiest congratulations in receiving the inaugural award.




2019 Recipient - Richard Gibbs - Captain, Wellington Society 

Richard Gibbs from Wellington is the 2019 winner of the Halberg Trophy, initially won by Brian Osmand of Auckland.

Eagles GOY dinner 25 Feb 2020 134 In 2018, the Eagles invited interest from their membership to resurrect and modernise our website, which had been dying a slow death for some years. Richard put up his hand, and has spent hundreds of hours ensuring that our revitalised site is up to date, modern, and relevant to Eagles today.  It is a complicated business, and one that Richard has thrown himself into conscientiously.  Eagles are very grateful to him.

In addition, Richard was the chairman of last year's highly successful national convention in Wellington.  The Eagles hope that his devotion to the cause will remain undiminished for many years, and we are proud to put his name forward as the winner of the trophy for 2019.

From David Howie (President) and Jeremy Ballantyne (National Secretary)


Eagles Golfing Society of New Zealand Inc

Contact details
Eagles Golfing Society of New Zealand:

Judith Capstick - National Secretary
54 Kowhai Place, Kaiaua,
RD3 Pokeno 2473
phone: 021 171-2875

Member Login/Logout